ROMA, MAIMAI

F O O T B A L L I S T S

MaiMai1 Roma. Maimai. Behind the astrodome. Tacloban, 2013.

Why Roma? I asked.

“My husband found this shirt in between destroyed houses of San Jose district.“

In ruins of Tacloban, thousands of zombie-like survivors loiter. The super typhoon hit the coast and people’s lives were pulverized to the smallest bits from which they would have to rebuild everything. I’ve seen it before, I know the pattern – to have their old lives back, the high spirit will be as important as material reconstruction.

Just to the right from city’s astrodome where hundreds or survivors found shelter, between some improvised shacks and about dozen rotten bodies left for rescue workers to collect I noticed a beautiful young woman wearing a sleeveless football shirt. She was holding a child and I almost fell of my bike when I first saw her. In the ocean of surreal scenes and powerful photographs I took on this assignment…

View original post 145 more words

Leave a Reply

